Dixon, Hunter-Reay returned to Ganassi for Petit Le Mans

Dixon, Hunter-Reay returned to Ganassi for Petit Le Mans


Six-time IndyCar champion Dixon will share the role of third driver for Ganassi’s #01 Cadillac Dpi-VR with Sebastien Bourdais and Reger van der Zande on October 1 for the Road Atlanta Classic.

Hunter-Reay, meanwhile, shares the #02 Caddy with the car’s regular drivers Alex Lynn and Earl Bamber.

For Dixon, it will mark his first IMSA exit after a collision with the IndyCar round of Texas forced him to miss the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at the Rolex 24 Daytona in January.

Hunter Ray joined Bourdais and van der Zande for the Sebring race but has now switched to its sister car for its first Petite Le Mans appearance since 2020.

The two Ganassi cars are part of a seven-strong top class entry for what will be the final race of the DPE era at Road Atlanta.

As expected, Loic Duvall (JDC-Miller Motorsports) and Mike Conway (Action Express Racing) are the third drivers for their respective teams, while AXR’s second Cadillac will again share driving duties with Mike Rockenfeller, Jimmie Johnson and Kamui Kobayashi.

He had Wayne Taylor Racing at Acura Camp. Brendon Hartley has already announced that he is the third driver for the title deciderAnd Helio Castroneves returns to the Mayer Shank Racing ARX-05 for the first time since Daytona.

The 48-car entry list is completed by a hefty crop of seven LMP2s, 11 LMP3s, seven GTD Pro entries and 16 GTD machines.

Former Mazda racer Tristan Nunez will make his second outing with LMP2 squad PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports after joining the lineup for the #11 car at Street America in August. He competes with Josh Pearson and Steven Thomas.

Indy Lights driver Christian Rasmussen is a new addition to the #18 Era Motorsports lineup along with regulars Kyle Tilley and Ryan Dalziel.

In GTD Pro, Jesse Krohn is back with BMW Team RLL for the first time since Daytona, while Augusto Farfus is expected to compete in the Clash GT World Challenge European Endurance Cup race in Barcelona instead.

Tom Gamble is joined by Ross Gunn and Alex Riberas in the Performance Racing GTD Pro entry with Maxime Martin remaining in the Aston Martin outfit’s GTD car with Roman De Angelis and Ian James.

Previously announced third drivers Nicky Katzberg (Corvette Racing), Felipe Nasser (Pfaff Motorsports Porsche) and Kyle Kirkwood (Vasser-Sullivan Lexus) are back with their respective teams in GTD Pro.

In GTD, Alessio Rovera returns to Michelin Endurance Cup-only Ferrari team Settler Racing for the first time since Daytona, while Seb Priaulex is the new addition to Inception Racing’s McLaren team.

Track action for the 25th running of the Petite Le Mans begins on Thursday, September 29 at 9:50am Eastern time with first practice.

Also read:



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.