Riverhead Raceway: Slepian NASCAR modified field

Riverhead Raceway: Slepian NASCAR modified field

Dix Hills’ Dylan Slepian sat in the winner’s circle for the third time this season in the 50-lap NASCAR Modified feature at Riverhead Raceway Saturday night. Patchogue’s Michael Burner notched his second win of the year in the 100-lap Crate Modified event.

Slepian praised his staff after his seventh career win. “My guys nailed it tonight,” he said.

Jack Handley Jr. of Medford was second. Riverhead’s Jeffrey Goodale finished third. East Islip’s Matt Broad finished 15th to fourth. Manorville’s Kyle Soper was fifth.

For 81 laps, it looked like the 100-lap Crate Modified race would go to Owen Grennan of Glen Cove, but the racing gods decided otherwise. On lap 81, as Grennan tried to exit the corner on the gas, his car lost power and the yellow flag was drawn. The culprit: a dealer issue.

This made Berner the new race leader, sending him to a second win in 2022. Chase Grennan of Glen Cove was second and Michael Rutkoski of Mattituck was third.

In the third and final Miller Lite Triple Crown Series Blunderbust race, a 30-lap race, defending champion Cody Trillola of Bay Shore became the first repeat winner of the year as well as the Miller Lite Triple Crown Series champion. Brandon Hubbard of Mastic and Tom Sullivan of Massapequa were the next 2 winners.

All-time leading Super Pro track winner Lou Mastry added another notch to his belt when he won his 37th career race at Deer Park. Shawn Glennon of Northport was second and Joserabino of Bay Shore was third.

For the second time in three years, Lindenhurst’s John Palmeri won the National Stock Demolition Derby Championship.

Joey Brown of Manorville won the 20-lap Legend Race Car event. Richie Davidowitz of East Morris was second and Rialee O’Keefe of Manorville was third.

Bohemia’s Chevy Romney won the 15-lap Bandolero outdoor race Friday night after a race shop accident removed more than 300 stitches from his leg. Will Cipala of Manorville was second and Marissa Stewart of Riverhead was third.

Riverhead’s Greg Harris won the 40-lap 8-Cylinder Enduro for the second time.

Huntington’s Darren Krantz Jr. continued to dominate the Bandalero Bandits, finishing first in the 15-lap race and scoring his fourth win in six races.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *