The WNBA is moving all league teams to a no-place format

The WNBA is moving all league teams to a no-place format


The WNBA is changing the selection process for all league first and second teams, moving to a no-place format, it was announced Friday.

Previously, the league required voters to choose two guards, two forwards and one center for each team.

“As we reviewed our approach to the final awards and spoke with our general managers, head coaches and others, it became clear that the most deserving players, regardless of position, should be recognized at the end of the season,” said the WNBA’s league leader. Operations Bethany Donaphin is in the description. “Our game continues to evolve. With a greater emphasis on positioning and speed of play, players have expanded their multi-faceted skill sets. This evolution allows us to celebrate the best going forward.”

The league’s versatile starting lineup has already been out of place and will stay that way. However, the WNBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams will continue to be established at the position.

A national media panel of 56 sportswriters and broadcasters voted on the year-end season awards, which are voted on by league executives, and the Peak Performer Award, which is presented to regular season leaders. , and assist with game recovery.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.